My first English blog - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Marlies Sluis - WaarBenJij.nu My first English blog - Reisverslag uit New York, Verenigde Staten van Marlies Sluis - WaarBenJij.nu

My first English blog

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlies

26 April 2013 | Verenigde Staten, New York

Why I'm starting to write English blogs? Well, along the way of my journey I'm creating some bonds with people other than just from The Netherlands. It wouldn't be fair to them to keep writing in Dutch. And you know what, even though it's my second language, lately I've been using it as my native one! After all, I'm still living in the States and that's not going to change any time soon.

So, where were we? Right, my first English blog. For those who would like to read my other blogs in English as well; I'd be happy to translate them! Just give me a call

For once, let's not talk about Africa (even though it's still all I can think of). And no, I'm not gonna bother you with a 'yadiyadi' diary thing, or what so ever either. I would like to tell you more about my journey, the one I prefer to call: Life Experience (with a capital). As most of you guys already know, I have a very impulsive behavior and I am the worst planner ever! That being said, one of my impulsive actions was my trip to Africa. I was supposed to be there for 4 weeks but ended up coming home after nearly 4 months. Oh, how I loved it to be there. In the meantime I was busy doing other stuff. However I only was able to be connect to the rest of the world in the weekends, somehow I managed to arrange my trip to the US during my African stay. I came home at Dec 21st and left Jan 14th. It seems like a short period, but it was just enough time to go to the embassy and meet up with my friends and family. If I could do it all over, I wouldn't do it in any other way. Oh and by the way, I would like to use some abbreviations but unfortunately there's still people who are very bad at English so I'll stick with the long (and boring)way.....
Anyways, I was USAbound... I'm so grateful to be here! It has always been a dream to live in the States. And here I am. So, let's see.. another 8 months to go. What should we do? I mean, don't get me wrong.. I really love it to be here, but there's so many other things to do and see. My friends from here are going to Oceania (New Zealand and Australia) that could be an option. Also my network will be broad enough to find a job here in NYC. I always thought it would be just a dream. But honestly, you're the only one who can make your dreams come true. You just gotta work for it, you know. Look at me; 22, 3 degrees in the pocket, Life Exprience. Quite successfull right? I'm not done though...

The purpose of my new blog is to show people that dreams do come true. You've got to be creative and work your @$$ off. And that's exactly what I'm about to do. Yes, miracles are a fact in life. And no, not everybody is fortunate enough to experience them. But that doesn't mean you have to stop looking for them. When I was in Africa, sure I lost my faith and thought life wasn't fair. And it's not, trust me, that's a fact as well. But miracles will happen, as long as you believe in it. You can look for them all around you, in each moment. Recognizing and acknowledging - whether through journaling, a whispered prayer, or whatever else you can think of - keeps the miracles coming. They become a daily occurance. What I've learned from my stay in Africa is that people can be happy with nothing, as long as they'll have something to hold on to; faith and believe.

Ok, so again... No I'm not sure yet what I'm gonna do next (after January). Could be anything. I guess I'll just have to do it my impulsive way again and see where it leads me. :)) And you've got to do the same. You're special, amazing, unique and you've got the future in your hands, go for it!!:)

  • 26 April 2013 - 10:02

    Tanja Kramer:

    Mooi geschreven lieverd! So true.. lots of kisses and hugs <3

  • 28 April 2013 - 20:44

    Cecil:

    Lieve nicht, wat kan jij toch mooi schrijven!!
    Ben trots op jou welke keuze je hierna ook weer zal gaan maken.
    Ik mis je ontzettend , alles is anders zonder jou.
    Heel veel plezier nog in Amerika. Liefs Cecil en Damon xxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marlies

Actief sinds 16 April 2012
Verslag gelezen: 1040
Totaal aantal bezoekers 16223

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Januari 2013 - 20 Januari 2014

Living the American Dream

09 September 2012 - 06 Oktober 2012

Durban, Zuid Afrika

Landen bezocht: